Reading Recommendations 7

Hey guys! Happy Thursday!!

Today, I’m popping in today to share some of my recent good reads. . .

Big Little Lies

IMG_6660

Sometimes it’s the little lies that turn out to be the most lethal.

A murder…A tragic accident…Or just parents behaving badly? What’s indisputable is that someone is dead.

Madeline is a force to be reckoned with. She’s funny, biting, and passionate; she remembers everything and forgives no one. Celeste is the kind of beautiful woman who makes the world stop and stare but she is paying a price for the illusion of perfection. New to town, single mom Jane is so young that another mother mistakes her for a nanny. She comes with a mysterious past and a sadness beyond her years. These three women are at different crossroads, but they will all wind up in the same shocking place.

Big Little Lies is a brilliant take on ex-husbands and second wives, mothers and daughters, schoolyard scandal, and the dangerous little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

–> a good “beach” read with an interesting twist at the very end. The book was a little slow at points, but the characters were interesting enough to keep me reading and I liked the twist at the end. My grade – B+

Labor Day

IMG_6989

The  unforgettable story of a mother and son forever changed during a long summer weekend when a mysterious man comes into their lives.

–> super quick read. I wasn’t exactly sure where the story was going but it kept me interested. Not my favorite book, but a decent beach read. C+

The Secret Keeper

IMG_6974

During a picnic at her family’s farm in the English countryside, sixteen-year-old Laurel Nicolson witnesses a shocking crime, a crime that challenges everything she knows about her adored mother, Dorothy. Now, fifty years later, Laurel and her sisters are meeting at the farm to celebrate Dorothy’s ninetieth birthday. Realizing that this is her last chance to discover the truth about that long-ago day, Laurel searches for answers that can only be found in Dorothy’s past. Clue by clue, she traces a secret history of three strangers from vastly different worlds thrown together in war-torn London—Dorothy, Vivien, and Jimmy—whose lives are forever after entwined. A gripping story of deception and passion, The Secret Keeper will keep you enthralled to the last page.

–> I really liked this book, the story was interesting and I liked how it jumped around from each person’s view point and from the past to the present. It dragged a little bit in the middle, but the ending was totally worth the read. My grade – A

Obsession in Death

A #1 New York Times Bestselling Author Eve Dallas has solved a lot of high-profile murders for the NYPSD and gotten a lot of media. She and her billionaire husband are getting accustomed to being objects of attention. But now Eve has become one person’s obsession. Someone who thinks about her every hour of every day. Who believes the two of them have a special relationship. Who would kill for her again and again. And Eve knows that underneath the worship, a terrible threat lies in wait.

IMG_7098

–> So, I didn’t realize that this is like book #40 in a “In Death” series. . . thankfully, it is a good stand alone book. I liked the characters and think I will go back and read more of the series. This one was a fairly standard murder/cop mystery. Somewhat predictable but still a good read. My grade – B

The Husband’s Secret

IMG_7452

At the heart of The Husband’s Secret is a letter that is not meant to be read…
My darling Cecilia,
If you’re reading this, then I’ve died…

Imagine your husband wrote you a letter, to be opened after his death. Imagine, too, that the letter contains his deepest, darkest secret—something with the potential to destroy not only the life you have built together, but the lives of others as well. And then imagine that you stumble across that letter while your husband is still very much alive…

Cecilia Fitzpatrick has achieved it all—she’s an incredibly successful businesswoman, a pillar of her small community, a devoted wife and mother. Her life is as orderly and spotless as her home. But that letter is about to change everything—and not just for her. There are other women who barely know Cecilia—or each other—but they, too, are about to feel the earth-shattering repercussions of her husband’s secret.

–> such. a. good. book. I couldn’t put it down. I lost a lot of sleep the week I was reading this one. The perfect vacation/lazy weekend read. My grade – A

The Boys In The Boat.

IMG_7635

For readers of Unbroken, out of the depths of the Depression comes an irresistible story about beating the odds and finding hope in the most desperate of times—the improbable, intimate account of how nine working-class boys from the American West showed the world at the 1936 Olympics in Berlin what true grit really meant.

It was an unlikely quest from the start. With a team composed of the sons of loggers, shipyard workers, and farmers, the University of Washington’s eight-oar crew team was never expected to defeat the elite teams of the East Coast and Great Britain, yet they did, going on to shock the world by defeating the German team rowing for Adolf Hitler. The emotional heart of the tale lies with Joe Rantz, a teenager without family or prospects, who rows not only to regain his shattered self-regard but also to find a real place for himself in the world. Drawing on the boys’ own journals and vivid memories of a once-in-a-lifetime shared dream, Brown has created an unforgettable portrait of an era, a celebration of a remarkable achievement, and a chronicle of one extraordinary young man’s personal quest.

–> Another winner. SO interesting and amazing. I love how the story started with following one boys childhood and then intertwining with the other boys who rowed in the crew team for University of Washington and then competed in the 1936 Berlin Olympics. Also, it was very interesting to read about the Olympic preparations in Germany during the Nazi era. So much sadness during that time period, but this story will stay with you. I read it a few weeks ago and I am still thinking about this amazing story of the nine boys and their journey to the Olympics. Grade – A+

Looking for more? Check out my other reading recommendation posts:

Reading Recommendations
Reading Recommendations 2
Reading Recommendations 3
Reading Recommendations 4
Reading Recommendations 5
Reading Recommendations 6

Linking up with Amanda today for Thinking Out Loud!

*Links and italics text are from Amazon.com.

Have you read any good books lately??

22 Comments

Filed under Recap

22 Responses to Reading Recommendations 7

  1. I just finished Me Before You and loved it! Thanks for the recommendations!
    Katie @ Daily Cup of Kate recently posted..Let’s Have Some Coffee!My Profile

  2. Jodi

    Thanks, Katie!! I love when you do reading recommendations. Now I just need to find more time to read! 🙂

  3. I need to find a new book to read, so I’ll have to look these up. Thanks for sharing! Also, I do love the JD Robb books. Some are definitely more predictable, but I love the characters so I don’t really mind.
    Kelly @ Kelly Runs For Food recently posted..5 morning rituals that will change your lifeMy Profile

    • KT

      I totally have the JD Robb books on my to-read list. I am going to have to start from the beginning of the series!

  4. Thanks for the recommendations. I’m always looking for a good book to read. I’ve read most of Liane Moriarty’s books and they really keep your interest.
    Darlene recently posted..Thinking Out Loud Thursday: Speedwork , Fall & Another RaceMy Profile

  5. I have FINALLY made a conscious effort to get reading back into my days.. and I love it! I’m excited to check out my library and see if they have any of the books you enjoyed 🙂
    Hannah @CleanEatingVeggieGirl recently posted..Crispy Collards and KaleMy Profile

    • KT

      I totally go thru phases with reading. I was a reading machine this summer and now with fall it’s slowed down. . .

  6. eeeeee! I love the book recommendations! I did the same this week over on my blog! I have the Husband’s Secret, Big Little Lies, and Boys in the Boat on my Goodreads “want to read” list too! My stack is kind of piling up, but I have been reading a lot more- I am not sure how but it is working! Fun post~
    Barrie recently posted..Thinking Out Loud: Let’s Talk About 4 Great BooksMy Profile

  7. I LOVED The Husband’s Secret, and I totally agree that it was better than Big Little Lies. Have you read What Alice Forgot? Lots of people seemed to really like that one as well, but I had a hard time getting into it.
    Amanda @ .running with spoons. recently posted... thinking out loud #155 .My Profile

  8. I’ve read all of these except the boys in the boat & that death series one. I really like Liane Moriarty’s books! And wasn’t the Secret Keeper so good?! Totally had to re-read a few pages at the end 😉
    Annette@FitnessPerks recently posted..A Day in the Life {with two kids under two}My Profile

  9. The Secret Keeper sounds so good! I already want to know how it ends just based off that short synopsis. Adding these to my goodreads!
    Julia @ Lord Still Loves Me recently posted..Thinking Out Loud: Secret Staff & HamiltonMy Profile

  10. I LOVED both The Husband’s Secret and Big Little Lies such good reads and I didn’t see the endings coming AT ALL!
    Torry @ A World Without Wheat recently posted..WIAW #3My Profile

  11. Thanks for the book recommendations! I’ve been looking for a good one! The only problem is when I find a good one I tend to read it in one sitting 🙂
    Kelsey @ Chatterbox Blog recently posted..Weekend Update – Halloween!My Profile

  12. I felt the same way about The Husband’s Secret – she is an incredible author! I’m currently reading a couple books, Rising Strong by Brene Brown and another novel that’s name I can’t remember off the top of my head, haha, maybe something about Mason jars… 😉
    Kate @ Baking in Yoga Pants recently posted..Little Things To LoveMy Profile

  13. Edye

    Those books all look really good! How do you read so many books? Any tips?